skip navigation

5 Bears Honored by North Shore Conference

03/05/2018, 3:45pm CST
By Dave Coughlin

5 Bears Honored by North Shore Conference

As Coach Hebda and Coach Bayer built on their first season with the Ice Bears by capping off an 18-8 record for year two. In their second season, 5 of their players were recognized for their contributions to the Bears by the North Shore Conference.

Junior Defenseman Ethan Coughlin (West Bend West) receives First Team All-Conference honors. Coughlin, in his first season with the Bears, led all NSC defensemen in scoring with 23 points (10G, 13A) in 25 games. He registered 4 points versus Beloit and tallied 3 points in each game against WNS. Coughlin led the Bears with 4 powerplay goals and tied for the team lead with 3 game winners.

Junior Goal Tender Chris Clement (Slinger) and Senior Forward Eli Kopish (West Bend East) earn Second Team All-Conference honors. Clement had the second best save percentage in the NSC at .886. He registered 3 shutouts in 2017-18 and had a goals against average of 2.53. Chris also registered an assist this season. This is Clement’s second consecutive season being recognized as one of the top goalies in the NSC.

Kopish capped off his Ice Bears career tallying 32 points (13G, 19A) in 26 games. Eli registered multiple points in 10 games with a high point total of 5 coming against the Northwest Icemen. This is Kopish’s second consecutive year being recognized as one of the top players in the NSC.

Freshman Andrew Butler (Germantown) and Junior Nate Kandel (West Bend West) earn Honorable Mention accolades. Butler was the Ice Bears leading scorer for the 2017-18 campaign tallying 37 points (20G, 17A) in 26 contests. He registered 12 multi-point games highlighted by a 4 point game against Greendale and 3 points against the Northwest Icemen and Ashwaubenon. Andrew also led the Bears with 6 powerplay assists.

Kandel, the 2017-18 captain of the Ice Bears, was the textbook definition of a defensemen. While registering 14 points for the season (3G, 11A), was a steady force on the blueline that often saw him matched up with opposing team’s top lines or leading off a penalty kill situation. Nate registered one multi-point game this season against DeForest.

These 5 players were not the only Ice Bears that were recognized for their efforts during the 2017-18 season. Assistant Coach Brandon Bayer was named Section 8 Assistant Coach of the Year by the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association.

Congratulations to all of these Ice Bears as well as the rest of the Bears that were part of the 2017-18 season. Each and every player made a contribution to make this season a very memorable one and the entire program is looking forward to the 2018-19 campaign.

Photo courtesy of: Dave Coughlin

Tag(s): Home  Ice Bears Varsity  Ice Bears JV